Another Else: Volume I
Reminding and Restating Revised

When you go face first, you might get punched in the nose

Every time I look a MySpace page or a Facebook profile I marvel at how the mindset of people has changed. I remember when everybody was so intensely set on protecting their identity online. You weren’t supposed to say your real name or where you lived. Meeting people you met online was strictly taboo.
Now, some people have their entire lives online. We have all heard about hose people who met online and lived happily ever after. We also hear about the cyberbullying. What I want to know is how did the anonymity that everyone loved before become the evil of today. The so-called “Other Internet.”
Most parents have the basic sense to tell their children to at least keep their MySpace profiles private because they want to protect them. But now, all big and grown up bloggers felt they could show all. They put themselves out there and then wonder why they are personally attacked. The only thing to attack is you. Don’t say that my choice to remain anonymous creates an unfriendly environment. It doesn’t.
Anonymous people have been a problem in history, but so have openly public people.
The DC snipers were anonymous. Osama Bin Ladin is not.
The Zodiac killer was anonymous. Adolf Hitler was not.
I’m sure you could think of others.

So once again I say it, if you can’t handle not being anonymous don’t blame those who are.
Now, as my Tae Kwon Do instructor used to say
“Keep your hands up, they are your protection!”

