Another Else: Volume I
Reminding and Restating Revised

In response to a Descobleized week

Let me start off by saying I don’t even read the Scobleizer on a semi-normal basis. I just came across this post after reading earlier today about a harassed blogger.
I’m going to throw out all sensitivity here. This is beyond ridiculous.
A blogger named Kathy Sierra started receiving comments on her blog that are undoubtedly threatening in nature.

Comment from:

Name: siftee
Email: siftee@yahoo.com
IP: 62.37.152.243
Comment:

fuck off you boring slut… i hope someone slits your throat and cums down your gob

Who here hasn’t seen worse on a message board? Sorry, had to point that out. I don’t understand how this wasn’t just deleted like the trash it and it’s creator are and forgotten. Yes, as Kathy points out the “law is clear–to encourage or suggest someone’s death is just as illegal as claiming you intend to do it yourself,” but honestly to take something like this seriously is laughable. To throw out another example, listen to what people in stadiums yell out to baseball players. Ever see snipers in the stands?
Didn’t think so.
The next threat came from a picture and a person saying “the only thing Kathy has to offer me is [a] noose in her neck size.” This seems to me to be more of a Why-don’t-you-just-kill-yourself insult.
Finally, the most laughable of all of these is a very poor Photoshop job.

What exactly is this?

That pushed you over the edge, Kathy? What the hell is it? Suffocation by underwear or skinned ripped off? Honestly my blind eyes can’t tell.

What’s to be scared of? A Photoshopped picture? An anonymous comment on a public blog?
Your pictures are put on the Internet by even you I would assume. You can’t think everybody is going to play nice. As for skipping out on your keynotes, I wish I could get out of work because somebody was mean to me on the Internet. But if you want to play into their game, go ahead and hide. They are laughing all the way to their next post.

Next, there is Mr. WordPress-Number-One-Stats Scoble. (Yea, I wish I had his traffic numbers. So do you. Shut up.)
You aren’t blogging for a week? For what purpose? I don’t read your blog but apparently a lot of other people do. Letting them shut you up because they included your name too? Well then, you lose. They win.
They obviously don’t like what you say so you not saying anything is the best victory they could have. Well after the fact that their childish games were acknowledged. That’s all they want. Attention.
Mommy was too busy fighting with daddy…yadda yadda yadda.

Finally, what actually got me to post this response.

The Internet culture is really disgusting.

The Internet mirrors real life. People who are jerks offline are jerks online and vice versa. Since I assume you’ve been a geek most of your life I would have thought you’d have known this by being bullied as a child. Some people never grow out of bullying because for some people they have people like you to roll over for them.
That’s what you are doing. Playing dead. Ironic as they used death threats, huh?
I point that out in case you thought you were playing the Knight in Shining Armor.

It’s this culture of attacking women that has especially got to stop. I really don’t care if you attack me. I take those attacks in stride. But, whenever I post a video of a female technologist there invariably are snide remarks about body parts and other things that simply wouldn’t happen if the interviewee were a man.

It makes me realize just how ascerbic this industry and culture are toward women. This just makes me ill.

You’ve made a point. What do you do next? Nothing. You point that that you are doing nothing for a week.
You aren’t the Knight on the horse you’re the drunk preaching at the bar. Sad truth.

Now, stand up. All bloggers stand up. All blog readers stand up.
You don’t like what these people are doing. Neither do I.
You know people like this in real life and so do I.
Actually do something. Which in this case is probably as easy as ignoring comments and bad Photoshops. I mean I’ll worry when a hand reaches out of my screen for me. Until then, I’ll watch my back offline.

——

Now, you might say that me being anonymous here makes it easier for me to laugh at these threats. It might. But if you can’t handle the threats, why aren’t you anonymous? I think that’s a better question.
Re-earn your “net cred.”

One Response to “In response to a Descobleized week”

  1. […] anonymous fought back. Kathy Sierra didn’t fight back. She got scared and hid in her house. Scoble halted posting for a week. O’Reilly called for a block on anonymous posting. Did anybody get […]


Comments are closed.

