Another Else: Volume I
Reminding and Restating Revised

Bad Trade

Hi there, reader.
I’m guessing you are addressed by this title a lot, reader. In fact, I’m sure that if you are taking time out of your life to read this, you would consider yourself a big reader. Also, I’m sure you have friends…wait no I take that back. I’m sure you know people who hate reading. (I didn’t want to make that big of an assumption.)
Now, what happened to those people? Why do they hate reading. Think back. I’m sure you remember your English class in school. Remember being enthralled by those books…yea, neither do I.
The truth is, your teacher may not have even liked the books you read!
But we were forced to read them. Schools say we have to read these books to be well-rounded or whatever their current excuse is. The school systems traded the love of reading for a half-baked attempt at making us well rounded.
I had a buddy who could use Spark Notes to get A’s in English. He was able to “BS his way through questions” as we said in high school. He utterly despises reading.
I can quote a bit of Shakespeare (I had to memorize a Hamlet soliloquy once.) and I read works by some of the great authors. However, I knew how to find books outside of the classroom. I liked to read those books and found it hard to put those down to read the crap the school was pushing on us. Now, also luckily for me, I developed this talent early in life. I had books in my hand at the age of three. Now, I’m not saying I’m some kind of prodigy, far from it. I’m saying that I got a head start. I enjoyed books before I got crap pushed on me.
In ninth grade, we had to read I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou. Every single one of us hated, I mean hated this book. I hear Maya Angelou has some actual good works published. I know I won’t read them. Caged Bird is going to stick in my mind when I see her name. Now, think of somebody who already has a weak reading background.
Are all books like this?
Forget this.
I mean, how hard could it be for somebody to look at a school curriculum and say “Maybe the students won’t enjoy this as much as they would another great work.” I’m not calling for an end to Shakespeare, Angelou, or Joyce (The Dubliners was another joyful book experience during senior year.) There are classic books that are enjoyable.
Catcher in the Rye
The Great Gatsby

Those are two books I read in my junior year. They weren’t great. I didn’t place them in my favorite books list. But, they were some of the best books the school system ever pushed on me.
If we are supposed to show effort in class why can’t somebody show us effort in picking what the class is about?

Oh, yea…don’t consider yourself to be a good reader if you solely read blogs. Go read a real book.
Reading is what keeps you learning, and when you stop learning you get left behind in society, guy or girl.

One Response to “Bad Trade”

  1. […] of sheer morbid curiosity. Didn’t find very much in the way of interesting posts, apart from a post on reading, of all things. Oh, yea…don’t consider yourself to be a good reader if you solely read blogs. Go read a real […]


Comments are closed.

